Well, that was easy

I meant to write earlier, but I was having some photo trouble and not feeling so well for a few days and then my hard drive threatened to die (it’s still threatening, but not quite so sincerely) and blah, blah, blah, normal life stuff everyone deals with, that sometimes makes us a little behind on follow through. Anyway. Just means I have more to write about now.

So a couple weeks ago I wrote to the Doubleclicks and said, “Hey, I made you some hats. I can give them to you at one of your upcoming shows, if you want them. Whaddaya think?”  And they were really nice and said they were great hats and they looked forward to meeting me. Sweet.

IMGP0455      IMGP0482

So my daughter and I went to see them play at the comic book store and it was a lot of fun and Molly Lewis was there, too, and she’s also funny and geeky

IMGP0429

and that was also great, and at the end we got in the fan line, said hello and gave the hats to the band.

RAWRRRR

But they were backlit by the late afternoon sun and my photographer daughter couldn’t back up to get better focus and angle away from the sun, so this is the best we get. Sigh. You can still see how cute they all are together, though. 🙂

The Doubleclicks, unbeknownst to me (that’s the first time I’ve ever written the word ‘unbeknownst’ – how did I do?), are currently involved in a Kickstarter campaign to help them produce their next album, among other things. Their first few days went marvelously well, and they had to raise their goals because they blew past their original target in something like four hours, I think I heard. Good for them, right? Right! And then I got an email from one of them, asking if I’d be interested in participating in their promotion by providing a few hats. They wanted to add a few new perks, since many of the ones they were offering were already spoken for.

So I made a deal with them that for a minimal charge I’d provide them with up to ten hats to use as incentives in their Kickstarter campaign (give this amount of money and we’ll send you a custom hat, sort of thing). I like designing more than production work, but once in a while, I think it is fine to just make something for somebody. We made the deal, which made me happy and I hope made them happy, they put it up on their Kickstarter page and nine hats were snapped up within 24 hours. Shock! Amaze! Yay! The tenth one dawdled along for a little over another day, I think, before it too was claimed. So pretty soon I’m going to get an email from them telling me what sizes and colors they need and I’ll get to knitting a bunch of hats. I’m already worried about being a little bored, but I bet the project will go fast and who knows what other fun stuff might arise from this deal? Someone might ask me to design something special for them, or I don’t know, some other marvelous, mysterious thing might happen. I’m open, world, whatever.

On the Ravelry front, I am delighted to see many Name of the Doctor and There and Back Again scarf project pictures popping up. Yay! I don’t know if people want their efforts broadcast outside of Ravelry, so I won’t post pix and such here, but if you go to the pattern pages and click on the “Projects” tab, you can see them. They’re so good! I’m so proud and happy! Good job, all you brave people.

And I have a hat and two new scarves to show you soon. I think the hat first, later on this week. And then the scarf I have been thinking about and wanting for myself for months now (it came out so great!), and then the Celtic one, which is cool. I think you’ll like them. I can hardly wait to show you. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

