Geeking Out

I’ve always been a geek. And I had a lonely childhood. I’m not sure if those two things necessarily go together, but I know they do often. Certainly they did for me.

I found science fiction books pretty early in life, but I think the first truly geeky thing I did was get hooked on Star Trek, the syndicated reruns that played every weekday at 6:00 pm during the early to mid 1970s. I hardly ever missed a show, and quietly absorbed the whole thing, even if I’d seen that same episode five times already. I still love Captain Kirk, and Spock and Dr. McCoy, and the Enterprise. I want to go to there, as Liz Lemon says.

Probably my second big geeky romance was with The Lord of the Rings. I read that trilogy, and for the first time in my life, went to the library to ask if I could have the author’s address. I dearly wanted to send him a letter, to try to tell him how much his epic story meant to me, how it moved me. I was in Junior High, and outcast, and I wanted to see Tolkien’s elves with all my heart. After several days of checking back, the librarian regretfully returned to me to tell me that Mr. Tolkien had died the year before. So I reread the books, and waited impatiently for his son Christopher to finish editing the Silmarillion. This is how I got a US first edition copy (I had to wait until 1977). And then I proceeded to read the book to death, so even though I have a first edition, it is in sorry shape and not worth anything as an object. But I remember sitting in our backyard with my teenaged daughter one summer day, while I read the story of Luthien Tinuviel and her lover Beren to her out of that broken, ratty old book. We both had tears in our eyes as I finished.

I share these tidbits to try to convey how much it means to me to find other fanboys and fangirls out there, others who get excited about fantasy and science fiction, fanfic and cosplay, and getting excited and making things. Others who understand my attempts at obsessive geeky  artistic expression. Hooray for the internet! What joy! I love all you nerds.

Leave a Reply

